Spring Forward? Not in Hawaii

Posted Sunday, March 8, 2020 - By Chuck Garrett

Photo by Bradley Ziffer on Unsplash

Spring Forward?

Most of the United States, Canada, and Mexico's northern border cities recognize Daylight Saving Time today, Sunday, March 8, 2020.

Hawaii and Arizona are two U.S. States that are currently the exception to the rule. U.S. Territories that also do not observe Daylight Savings Time include American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands.

Because changes in the daily amount of sunlight are greater the further one moves away from the equator, it's not surprising that most of the locations not participating are tropical.

The practice of saving daylight has often been controversial since it was first tested and implemented in various locations globally beginning in the late 1800s. While some see benefits to the increased daylight, the disruption to travel schedules, medical and other timed devices and sleep patterns are significant.

U.S. States that have considered banning the practice someday include California, Delaware, Florida, Maine, Oregon, South Carolina, Tenessee, Utah and Washington.

DST Countries Map

Not in Hawaii

Hawaii officially observed Daylight Saving Time starting in 1933, but it was discontinued 12 years later in 1945 and has not been implemented since.

Even though it is not observed locally, as the most isolated population center in the world, Hawaii residents will still be required to make a number of adjustments as the U.S. West Coast is now a 3-hour time difference and the East Coast a 6-hour time difference.

We may be an extra hour away from our Mainland counterparts, but, we didn't lose any sleep this weekend!

Photo by Sebastián León Prado on Unsplash